Travelling With My Children

As I put my Hemp and Heart Health blogging to rest for a couple of months to be on holidays with my children I figure I would take some time today and post a new recipe and something I have learned.

I love summer holidays! Do you? No school, No packing lunches and No homework for 2 months feels like freedom. I ended up going on a road trip to visit some friends and family. I enjoy spending time with my children so going on vacation for two weeks with them was an adventure to be had and then we went camping for one week. Myself with a 11-year-old and 2 young kids, 3 and 2, was definitely a learning experience.

My son, Dakota, is an amazing young man! That is when he’s not acting like a spoiled pre-teen 🙂 His willingness to help and the love for his family made the trip more pleasurable then if he didn’t have these qualities within him.

I learned many things on my trip. Things that made me laugh, cry, be filled with love, hope, appreciation that I live so close to such beauty and an appreciation for my comfortable bed. I learned that love needs to have mutual respect between two people to work together, especially when your traveling. That my Lord protects me with his open arms wrapped tightly around me.

One thing that I did which was fun was that I went to the Calgary Stampede for the first time and of course went by myself as Dakota decided he didn’t want to come along. Was very fun being able to do what I wanted at the speed I wanted to go at without having a child ask for everything and spending way to much money. I watched all the shows that included the animals. Was pleased to have gone to the ice show and evening show. These two shows are worth more than the $12 that you pay to get into the gate (of course for the evening show you spend extra money to get into but it is so worth it). I would definitely go by myself again as the time away was not only relaxing but it rejuvenated my spirit and helped me to be able to continue on with our road trip, which was just starting.

What did you do on your summer holidays?

Leave a Reply

